Appointment required for immunizations
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: June 11, 2020
Due to COVID-19, the Kansas City, Missouri Health Department has ended its walk-up immunization clinic and now requires appointments for all immunizations and exemptions.
Parents and guardians should call 816-513-6108 as soon as possible to schedule an appointment.
The immunization clinic typically welcomes hundreds of families and vaccinates more than 1,000 children in the last two weeks of summer before school starts. This meant long lines and wait times of more than two hours.
“The health and safety of our residents and staff is our greatest concern. By moving to an appointment-only vaccination clinic, we will limit crowd size and ensure greater physical distancing,” said Tiffany Wilkinson, Division Manager, Communicable Disease Prevention and Public Health Preparedness.
Missouri law requires students be current on their immunizations for polio, rubella, rubeola, mumps, tetanus, pertussis, diphtheria, and hepatitis B. If they are not, they cannot attend school until vaccination requirements are met or there’s evidence they are in process. As of June 10, Missouri does not plan to waive this requirement to provide extra time to get vaccinated.
“Parents and guardians face additional challenges this year. They’ll find all clinics, not just ours, are offering fewer appointments so they can restrict crowd size. We fear many families will wait until the last minute, when appointments are full. Their children will be out of school for days, if not weeks. Please call now for an appointment,” Wilkinson said.
Because of COVID-19, the clinic has implemented other changes for back-to-school vaccinations:
- Parents or guardians must bring their child’s vaccination records to the appointment.
- No more than four people may come to an appointment (One parent/guardian, three children.)
- Larger families may need to break up visits into separate days.
- Those three-years and older need to wear masks during appointment.
- Picture ID
- Insurance cards/Medicaid cards
- School letters
- Written, signed consent (If you are not the parent/legal guardian)
Immunizations are available year-round and free for those who qualify under the Federal Vaccine for Children program, or KCHD has a third-party service that will bill most insurance plans. Non-Kansas City residents will have a fee of $10 for the first child seen and $5 for each additional child in the same family. For those who don’t qualify for either of these options, KCHD also offers a service where you can pay for the vaccine.
The health department is hoping to offer other opportunities for vaccinations, such as outreach clinics, drive-through vaccination clinics and after-hour appointments. Check the Health Department web page and follow the health department on Facebook and Twitter to be alerted to these opportunities. Media inquiries should be directed to Michelle Pekarsky, 816-719-3610 (cell).