Mayor Lucas Announces Appointments to Kansas City Health Commission

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Kansas City Mayor Quinton Lucas today released the following statement after announcing his appointments to the Kansas City Health Commission:


“COVID-19 has caused all of us to look anew at the essential role public health serves in our community's social and economic well-being. More than any other cities or counties in our region, Kansas City invests significantly in health infrastructure that bases its decisions on relevant data, considers disproportionate health impacts on vulnerable populations, and provides objective advice to elected officials, healthcare professionals, educators, and the public. 


“I am proud today to announce new Health Commission appointees who will only enhance Kansas City's longstanding commitment to public health for all Kansas Citians and all those in our region. My appointees include medical professionals with specialties in trauma, infectious disease treatment, pediatric, and prenatal care; supporters for survivors of domestic violence; advocates for residents of nursing homes and other long-term care facilities; experts in outreach to at-risk communities; educators; long-time community health reformers; and more.


“Kansas Citians can be proud of the varied backgrounds of our health commissioners, their devotion to all communities, and their commitment to addressing the many physical, mental, and social health challenges our communities face.


“The Health Commission will be chaired by Councilwoman Ryana Parks-Shaw, who has years of experience in healthcare and work with hospice and palliative services. Her co-chair will be Dr. Erica Carney, an emergency care physician at Truman Medical Centers, a medical faculty member at the University of Missouri-Kansas City, and the medical director of emergency medical services for the City of Kansas City. Dr. Carney's work has been instrumental in the City's response to COVID-19 and collaboration with area health providers. Councilman Dan Fowler also will represent City Council on the commission. Councilman Fowler has spent decades serving health organizations throughout the city, particularly in Kansas City, North.”


Health Commission:

  • Councilwoman Ryana Parks-Shaw, Fifth District, Co-Chair
  • Councilman Dan Fowler, Second District
  • Erica Carney, M.D., Kansas City Emergency Medical Services Medical Director, Co-Chair
  • Jim Nunnelly, Community Health Advocate and Historian
  • Sheela Ananth, M.D., Pediatrician
  • Hakima Tafunzi Payne, M.S.N.Ed., Uzazi Village
  • Tiana Caldwell, Housing Advocate, KC Tenants
  • Qiana Thomason, M.S.W., CEO of the Health Forward Foundation
  • Ben Grin, M.D., M.P.H., KC CARE Clinic
  • Austin Strassle, Truman Medical Centers
  • Professor Joseph Lightner, Ph.D., University of Missouri Kansas City
  • Jennifer Miller, Victims' Advocate, Kansas City Police Department
  • Ajia Morris, Greenline Initiatives
  • Eva Santiago, Educator, Kansas City Public Schools
  • Emma Shankland, Policy Advocate, Stateline Strategies
  • Christopher Dandurand, The Gorny Firm
  • Marqueia Watson, M.S.W., Coalition to End Homelessness
  • Rex Archer, M.D., Kansas City Director of Public Health, Ex-Officio and Co-Chair


# # #