• An updated FAQ for the next phase of the KCMO soft reopening has been posted.
  • KCMO is in a state of emergency. Find City impacts, help, resources, and more at

On August 17, 2006, the Mayor and City Council of Kansas City, Missouri committed to take action by passing a resolution to join more than 300 U.S local governments and 770 local governments worldwide in reducing emissions of Greenhouse Gas (GHG) Emissions. City Council charged the City Manager and chief Environmental Officer to work with the community in developing the Climate Protection Plan.

In October 2006, former Mayor Barnes appointed an 11-member Steering committee to oversee the planning process. Under the direction of the Steering committee, the City Manager, and the City's Chief Environmental Officer, an intensive planning process was begun.

In Phase 1, four Work Groups met over a period of four months preparing recommendations for the Steering Committee's consideration to be forwarded to the Mayor and City Council for approval and adoption. On April 12, 2007, Phase 1 recommendations were adopted by the City Council and Phase 2 began.

In Phase 2, two Work Groups met over a period of eight months preparing recommendations for the Steering Committee. The Climate Protection Plan is the combination of Phase 1 and Phase 2 recommendations.

Greenhouse Gas Emissions Reduction Goals

  • City Government - reduce GHG emissions by 30% below year 2000 by 2020.
  • Community-Wide - reduce emissions by 30% below year 2000 emission levels by 2020.
  • The Steering Committee recommended that the City achieve a community-wide GHG emission goal of 80% below year 2000 levels by 2050 and focus on our long term outlook on becoming climate neutral. 

Greenhouse Gas Inventory Results (2017)

City Government - 40% emissions reductions since 2000.

 City GHG 2017

Community-Wide - 21% emissions reductions since 2000

Community GHG 2017

Climate Protection Plan Key Elements

Climate Protection Steering Committee 

(Last Updated June 2019)

 Name  End of Term
Joanne Collins, Chair 4/30/2020

Cathy Bennett,
Greater KC Chamber of Commerce


 Bob Berkebile,
BNIM Architects and Planners


 Scott Burnett,
Jackson County Legislature


Dee Evans,
University of Missouri- KC


 Ellen Fairchild,


Thomas Grever,
Shook, Hardy, & Bacon, LLP


Kristin Riott,
Bridging the Gap


David Warm,
Mid-America Regional Council

Vacant NA
Vacant NA