Large KCFD Logo


The Kansas City Missouri Fire Department (KCFD) provides to the City's residents:

  • Fire protection
  • Emergency medical services
  • Emergency rescue
  • Hazardous material response

Fire Chief, Donna Maize, leads the Kansas City Fire Department consisting of 34 fire stations which are organized into seven battalions. The uniformed portion of the department is segmented into six bureaus each which is managed by a Deputy Chief.

  • Community Services
  • Professional Development
  • Technical Services
  • Special Operations
  • Emergency Operations
  • Emergency Medical Bureau

KCFD is actively involved in efforts to prepare the community for natural and man-made disasters. The department is a key player in the Mid-America Regional Council’s Homeland Security Coordinating Committee. This multi-disciplinary group coordinates policy development, planning, training and equipment for the metro area’s Urban Area Security Initiative (UASI), which is funded through the U.S. Department of Homeland Security.

The hallmark of the department is the labor/management partnership program that exists among Fire Administration and Locals 42 and 3808 of the International Association of Fire Fighters (IAFF). Local 42 represents the rank and file personnel of the department while Local 3808 represents the battalion chiefs, EMS division chiefs, EMS majors and middle management personnel of the organization. This partnership is designed to include the labor force as a participant in every significant decision within the department concerning policies and programs.

The Department stands committed to deliver their very best with each opportunity to serve.