Fire Marshal Division/Fire Prevention

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Fire Marshal Division & Fire PreventionThe Kansas City Missouri Fire Department’s Fire Marshal’s Division is responsible for all fire code enforcement, fire investigations, and public education within the approximately 319 square miles of the city across three counties. The office consists of one Chief Fire Marshal, two Assistant Fire Marshals, four Fire Investigators, 14 Inspectors, and two Public Education Specialists. This Division has over 25,000 buildings it inspects, investigates over 1500 fires a year, and reaches approximately 300,000 people with fire safety material annually.

Fire Prevention Tips

(.pdf downloads from the National Fire Protection Agency NFPA)


The Deputy Chief/Chief Fire Marshal is James Dean.

For more information call (816) 513-4610.  For more information about free smoke detectors, please click here.